RPWL links

Website http://www.rpwl.net

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/rpwl.net

YouTube https://www.youtube.com/user/RPWLtv

Twitter https://twitter.com/RPWL_official

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/rpwl/

iTunes https://itunes.apple.com/artist/rpwl/id264258729



German progressive rock band RPWL formed in Freising in 1997. The band’s name is an anagram using the first initials of the four founding members’ surnames: Phil Paul Rissettio (drums), Chris Postl (bass), Karlheinz Wallner (guitar), and Yogi Lang (vocals, keyboards). Initially conceived as a Pink Floyd cover band, RPWL transitioned into original music within a few years, releasing their debut album, God Has Failed, in 2000. Widely embraced in the art rock community, RPWL spent the next several years working to further distance themselves from their influences through albums like Trying to Kiss the Sun (2002), Stock (2003), and World Through My Eyes (2005). Their first live album, Live: Start the Fire, was also released in 2005. During this time, RPWL expanded their touring range throughout Europe and the U.S. Their next release, 9, consisted of five live tracks along with four solo studio tracks by each member. A year later, in 2008, RPWL again expanded their sound with The RPWL Experience, which they accompanied with a live version of the album in 2009. Celebrating their first decade of recording, they offered the 2010 retrospective double album The Gentle Art of Music. Their ambitious 2012 LP, Beyond Man and Time, was a concept album loosely inspired by Nietzsche’s Thus Spoke Zarathustra, and they again followed it with a live version, A Show Beyond Man and Time, which was recorded in Poland. A year after 2014’s studio concept album, Wanted, RPWL honored their roots with a live collection of early Pink Floyd covers aptly titled RPWL Plays Pink Floyd. Continuing in this spirit, they tackled the early Pink Floyd live suites The Man & the Journey with a live CD/DVD set. In 2017, they celebrated their 20th anniversary together with a hometown concert in Freising, released as the live album A New Dawn.



Phideaux Xavier is a progressive rock musician whose unique musical style gained the attention of the progressive rock community in the US and Europe upon the 2007 release of his Doomsday Afternoon album, the second installment of a trilogy that began in 2006 with The Great Leap. Phideaux is now back with a new album and back on stage with his full band.

This group of ten musicians is comprised of many childhood friends and comrades who have played on his more recent albums. Together, the band tackles a kaleidoscope of haunting vocals, multiple keyboards and upbeat, intricate, rock music. The group is comprised of:

Ariel Farber / Vocals, Violin
Valerie Gracious / Lead Vocals, Piano
“Bloody” Rich Hutchins / Drums
Mathew Kennedy / Bass Guitar
Gabriel Moffat / Electric Guitar
Molly Ruttan / Vocals, Percussion
Linda Ruttan-Moldawsky / Vocals
Mark Sherkus / Keyboards
Johnny Unicorn / Vocals, Keyboards, Saxophone
Phideaux Xavier / Lead Vocals, Piano, Acoustic Guitar

The new double album, Infernal, is the final and eagerly awaited chapter in Phideaux’s trilogy, and a fitting finale to his carefully crafted “eco terror tale”.

Phideaux and his band have played several festivals since the release of Doomsday, including RoSfest (US), Summer’s End (UK), Crescendo (France), Terra Incognita (Canada), and 3RP (US). Other recent album releases have included Number Seven and Snowtorch.

While widely considered progressive rock, Phideaux’s music is difficult to categorize. It has been called cryptic, mysterious and frightening, as well as playful, melodic, and mischievous. Whether it’s progressive, art or psychedelic rock, Phideaux consistently pushes musical boundaries and defies genre.

Join Phideaux and his cohorts as they celebrate the cinematic sounds of the Doomsday Afternoon trilogy live in 2019.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial