Review Elements

  • HEAVINESS: 5/10
  • MELODIC: 5/10

The Sea Within (Deluxe Edition)




Super group the Sea Within, formed in 2017 by Swedish guitarist and singer-songwriter Roine Stolt, bassist Jonas Reingold and guitarist Daniel Gildenlöw, German drummer Marco Minnemann, and American keyboardist Tom Brislin.

I was fortunate to hear this band at Night of the Prog where they put on a stellar show. This album is really enjoyable. The 5 songs writen by Roine have many of his signature sounds especially the first track Ashes of Dawn.

My favorite song written by Marco Minnemann has to be the 14 minute Broken Cord. All in All there are 5 songs were written by Roine, 4 by Marco, Tom has one and Daniel has two bonus tracks.

As much as I liked their performance and the album I think its average / above average. This gets a moderate buy rating from me. Its very good though throughout. As I look at my ratings on each song I would be happy to play any one of them which is the mark of a good album. There is just not a passage that I think is a must hear.

Queue up a track and hear for yourself.

ALBUM HIGHLIGHTS: Request Ashes of Dawn Here

Click above to purchase at Amazon US or Amazon UK and we’ll get a little referral bonus on your whole order. Even if you don’t order this album

If you have never read the key for my ratings below please do so one time. I feel my ratings are tougher than my peers. Also Check my link to see how compatible our music tasts are.

These ratings are just attributes and may not have correlation to the most important: OVERALL RATING

0: Never heard of them or debut album.
2: Someone recommended. I give them another shot.
4: Some good moments in the past but never put together an album I really liked.
6: Some 4 or 5 star songs but albums can be hit or miss for me.
8: I like 80% of their songs and probably went to see them live.
10: I would, and probably have gone on a plane to see them live.

2: Weather Report
4: Zappa
6: Genesis – Selling England by the Pound,
8: Marillion – F.E.A.R
10: Kino – Picture


2: IQ – Seventh House
4: Discipline – Unfold Like a Staircase
6: Porcupine Tree – In Abstentia, Shadow Gallery – Tyranny
8: Vanden Plas – Chirst 0, Dream Theater – Scenes From a Memory
10: Opeth – Black Water Park

2: Opeth – Black Water Park
4: Vanden Plas – Chirst 0, Dream Theater – Scenes From a Memory
6: Porcupine Tree – In Abstentia, Shadow Gallery – Tyranny
8: Discipline – Unfold Like a Staircase
10: IQ – Seventh House

2: Will Never listen to again and deleted under no circumstances should you buy this
4: Not my thing maybe one redeeming song.
6: I like parts of this and I would check them out if they were near me.
8: I would get in the car and road trip to see this album live
10: I would get on a plane to see this performed live

See if our likes are similar See my Page

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial